Soft Day, thank God

In Ireland we have an expression,  ‘Soft day, thank God’. It’s more of a greeting than anything else, and is totally baffling to anyone who is not from these parts.  Living as I do in Munster, in the southern part of Ireland, this  is a common expression with which I have become  familiar. However my origins are in the  north of the country, where the expression is not common.

‘Soft day, thank God’  will be heard only on wet days as it is an acknowledgement of persistent gentle rain, such as we had today. I recall my father hearing this expression for the first time when he first visited this part of Ireland.  I could only describe his response as bewildered indignity. When the expression was explained to him he responded  ‘What are you talking about? It’s a miserable wet day!’ Which of course it is!

There is however a beautiful by-product in the form of gentle raindrops resting on plants, and I attempted to capture some of these jewels in my garden this evening.  Photos are here.

13 Comments

Filed under Ireland, Living in Ireland

13 responses to “Soft Day, thank God

  1. Kerry O'Gorman

    I have always loved that phrase and use it sometimes here on the West Coast where it rains a lot as well. People always say “what?” ! I couldn’t access your photos but will try again tomorrow. Cheers!

  2. A lovely expression – I can now imagine my Mary O’Brien using it, though unlikely it got much of an airing where they lived in the bush in Queensland.

  3. Yes a great expression, which I always take to mean any day it isn’t lashing down!

  4. Good Evening, Silver Voice … Its 8:05 pm here in Clear Creek County, an hour outside Denver … And everyone just now was freaking out because there is a black bear outside in the woods somewhere. The dogs are going nuts … HA! Anyway, I couldn’t get the pictures, but its probably because of my old, old, old, computer. Hope you are well, friend … And I think I may start that expression over here. Peace, T

  5. Oh… such beautiful pictures Angela…almost like dewdrops.
    I do very well remember initially being confused by that expression on my first visit to “the Emerald Isle” in 1994 but within a very short time understood it exactly.
    I’d describe it as a “gentle day”… neither too hot, cold, windy, rainy etc… and mostly so appreciated after especially bad weather. Maybe I’m totally wrong… but that seems how it was for me when I was there.

  6. Have always loved the way rain is described in Ireland: one day it’s soft and another day it’s lashing. That said, I’m always really thankful for the “fine days”!

Leave a Reply

