The Trees are in their Autumn Beauty ..

This often quoted line is from a poem by the much-loved Irish poet, William Butler Yeats, familiar to everyone who has passed through the Irish school system. We in Ireland do not always have as long and as beautiful an Autumn as we have been blessed with in 2014. The balmy mild and calm weather that has followed a beautiful long warm dry summer has added to the Autumn Beauty that we are now enjoying. These are snaps taken over an hour or so this afternoon, which I hope you might enjoy

These beauties are in the hedgerow at The Pike, near Ardagh, Co Limerick

Trees in Autumn glory at Adare,Co Limerick

image

 

These butter-yellow Acacias light up the main street in Adare

I really like these russet  beauties on the main street

Inside the town park, donated by the Dunraven family in the 1970s, there is a treasure trove of Autumn Beauty

And what a surprise to see these Autumn treasures! I love the tall toadstools, which I had not seen before.

Everywhere you look, Autumn lies in wait, so you need to look down too!

More in Adare town park

And finally, back in my own garden, a cherry wears her Autumn colours, bidding goodbye to the beautiful summer and Autumn that we have enjoyed!

image

 

The Wild Swans at Coole by W.B Yeats

‘The trees are in their autumn beauty,
The woodland paths are dry,
Under the October twilight the water
Mirrors a still sky;
Upon the brimming water among the stones
Are nine-and-fifty swans.

The nineteenth autumn has come upon me
Since I first made my count;
I saw, before I had well finished,
All suddenly mount
And scatter wheeling in great broken rings
Upon their clamorous wings.

I have looked upon those brilliant creatures,
And now my heart is sore.
All’s changed since I, hearing at twilight,
The first time on this shore,
The bell-beat of their wings above my head,
Trod with a lighter tread.

Unwearied still, lover by lover,
They paddle in the cold
Companionable streams or climb the air;
Their hearts have not grown old;
Passion or conquest, wander where they will,
Attend upon them still.

But now they drift on the still water,
Mysterious, beautiful;
Among what rushes will they build,
By what lake’s edge or pool
Delight men’s eyes when I awake some day
To find they have flown away?

 

23 Comments

Filed under Ireland, Ireland Seasons, Irish Countryside

23 responses to “The Trees are in their Autumn Beauty ..

  1. SV, such a beautiful post. I could write forever but it would boil down to this.

  2. Your autumn is so lovely–subtler and softer than the gaudy colors we get in upstate New York but every bit as beautiful! And the Yeats poem seems just right . . .

  3. Indeed one doesn’t usually associate Ireland with Autumn shades, more a windswept and damp murkiness which transforms the short summer into a gloomy beginning to winter. But you have captured Autumn 2014 excellently – Adare, yet another place I’ve missed. And I don’t ‘get’ poetry but Yeats is an exception.

    • Thank you Roy – our long hot summer coaxed a bit of colour out of our usually drab trees this year! Adare is a great little treasure, so hope you can pop in for a bite to eat and a stroll someday!

  4. How fortunate for you to be having such a glorious summer and fall! Your photos are gorgeously delightful. You would think my part of the world so drab in fall or in any season compared to yours. Thank you for sharing!

  5. Autumn is my favorite season. What lovely photos – I love how you have grouped them. And those mushrooms – how fun!

  6. Oh, I especially love the toadstools-no wonder our forbears believed in fairies their magic, with such strange growths appearing overnight! Adare is a unique place in so many ways. I am sure the Dunraven family had a lot to do with it’s lovely layout and pretty buildings. Delightful pics, SV.

    • Aren’t those toadstools simply magical! You are right that the Dunravens had a lot to do with the village and donated that piece of ground fora park in the centre of the village. But as the Dunravens say themselves, everything you see here is the work of local craftsmen, who built the Manor and the town. Thanks for dropping by!

      • Ah, I like the Dunraven response! Fond though I am of the Big House, I am very aware that we have the legacy of landlords and the demesne at the great expense of the local peasantry.

  7. Beautiful, The Will Swans at Coole”, by Mr. Yeats … These colors, my friend, are beautiful, along with the places where they reside. Here is Colorado, some people rave about how pretty the colors are, as the Aspens turn. However, we are quite limited in our colors. Your pictures are excellent examples of that. Here in the States, I still remember our fall seasons in Arkansas, the Ozarks … back when we had our family reunions there. Their colors were absolutely amazing. And these colors you are gifting us with on your blog: again, amazing. What a delightful post.

    • Our colours are more subtle and less dramatic than yours for sure, but I love them for that. We are not always blessed by anything more than autumnal drabness, but this year has been just lovely! Thank you for dropping by and so glad you enjoyed the post!

  8. Reblogged this on Wilder Man On Rolling Creek and commented:
    A Silver Voice From Ireland: what a terrific blog. She brought some wonderful images of the trees, their colors, turning. The content is enjoyable, along with the imagery. Have fun with this. T

  9. Leith

    Oh, to be in Adare (again) now autumn is there! Gorgeous photos, Angela, and a reminder of my visit. Many thanks!

    • Oh indeed I thought of you when I was there and do every day since – it has been the best year for autumnal beauty since you were here – they are even more gorgeous now, but fewer of them as they have begun to fall.

Leave a Reply

