Tread Softly … Honouring W.B. Yeats

W.B Yeats is one of my very favourite poets. His exquisite word crafting leaves me in awe and in love with his work. I would like to share the eloquence of Social Bridge in placing him centre stage on this, the anniversary of his death.

SOCIAL BRIDGE ~ Jean Tubridy connecting with you from Ireland

W.B. Yeats W.B. Yeats

Tomorrow, January 28th, marks the anniversary of the death in 1939 of the  great Irish poet and Nobel Laureate, William Butler Yeats.

W.B.Yeats has been a part of my life pretty much from the day I was born, with my mother quoting lines of his work. One of her favourites, when I’d be getting into a tizz-wizz over something would be:

She bid me take life easy,
   as the grass grows on the weirs;
But I was young and foolish,
and now am full of tears. 
(From: W.B. Yeats, Down by the Salley Gardens)
W.B. Yeats’ poetry was a fundamental part of English in school and it was there that I fell in love with The Wild Swans at Coole. I associate the poem very much with my birthday in October, just when we’d be getting settled back into the first term after the long summer holidays.

View original post 515 more words

8 Comments

Filed under Ireland

8 responses to “Tread Softly … Honouring W.B. Yeats

  1. Many, many thanks for the Reblog, Angela. W.B. Yeats is just so precious.

  2. I like Yeats’ poetry, too. His words always seem so soft. I tried to write like him when we studied his poetry. Never could master that.

Leave a Reply

