On Growing Old

In my previous post on Retirement: Smelling roses, enjoying brandy and learning to spit, I quoted the Jenny Joseph poem When I Grow Old.
My friend Chris has crafted her much more elegant and stylish aspirations into a thoughtful poem for the distant day when she arrives in that time in her life.  I think it’s a beautiful poem that deserves to be widely read!

WHEN I GROW OLD…

WHEN I GROW OLD….
When I grow old, I will not long for youth,
rather I will celebrate what has gone before
and look forward to what each day brings.
I will enjoy the company of myself, as well as that of family and friends..
of new discoveries, of revisiting old interests and developing new ones.
I will revel in choosing yes or no or maybe.. without guilt or reason.
I will enjoy friendships, both near and far….
I will take time to watch butterflies flit among the flowers
and listen to bird song every day…
I will drench myself in summer showers..
and sing in the moonlight…
I will write what I wish and read all I can…
Silken threads will be my palette
as I create simple things of beauty…
I will surround myself with roses and violets and daisies
I will bake at midnight if I wish
and eat fruit and cream for tea…
When I grow old, I will be me…
 (c)Crissouli Jan 24, 2016
Inspired by the post of my friend… Angela…
Thank you Chris!
You can read more of her musings at The Back Fence of Genealogy .

5 Comments

Filed under Ageing in Ireland, Healthy Living, Ireland, Older & Bolder, Older Generation, Retirement Age, Seniors

5 responses to “On Growing Old

  1. I think I am there already! Lovely words that make sense to me as I grow older too.

  2. I am humbled by your words and thank you for sharing…
    This morning, I’m enjoying a summer shower, watching my garden inhabitants reaching to the raindrops as if to save them the task of falling.

  3. Fabulous poem Chris, and thanks Angela for sharing. People will be grateful that I avoid the singing at any time…the rest I thoroughly endorse.

  4. Fabulous poem.
    Reading it made me wonder if I was ever not old.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.